Where’s Your Space?

20140116-074028.jpgThis subject has been on my mind a lot recently. Most of us have the “essential things” that we have to do each day–work, family, etc. while those are often wonderful things, those actions can be very outward facing.
When I think of people I know well, all of them have things they do that allow them to be more introspective and/or creative. But how do we honor that space for ourselves within the busy routines of our day?
The other day, a very close person in my life was overcoming a challenge to get to her space, her place to just “be.” I realized that even though my husband and I live in a pretty small condo, I have my place for reflection and creating in our guest room. But in my hurried moments, I allowed the space to become cluttered. The result of that was that I felt cluttered.
I spent a few hours last weekend doing a big sort through and brought my space back to life. Freshly spun yarn hanging on the wall, organized shelves, and room for yoga without fear of falling on my drum carder and impairing myself.
Sometimes seeing another person’s challenge and how it’s overcome can be the kick in the booty to look inward.
Do you have a place that’s just “yours?” Away from TV, tasks, electronics, and responsibilities? How do you honor your own time..or us that something that’s still on your to-do list? Take it from my lesson. The time to step back is rewarding in ways that you don’t realize until you are there.

Peace out and spin on!

5 thoughts on “Where’s Your Space?

  1. You are so right Leah. I am doing the same thing this week :0) My little space consists of a corner in our living room. Our home is quiet small, yet, my darling husband, was kind enough to situate me where I can create and still be in the thick of it all… I keep it very neat, it demands it!

    Great post Leah…thank you so much for sharing.

    mari

  2. My teachers in India say that the first think to consider before you even start meditating is the space. It needs to be clean, decluttered and calming, otherwise your mind will be restless. You’re so lucky having a guest room, that’s amazing – otherwise you’d need to fight for your clear corner in the living room! 😉

Leave a comment